Walter Braunfels
Capriccio C5308

Barbara Buntrock, viola (4)
Paul Armin Edelmann, baritone (2, 3)
Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz
Gregor Bühl, conductor
Rec. Ludwigshahen, Philharmonie
24-25 / 04 / 2017 - 01-02 / 06 / 2017
Rel. 10 novembre 2017ühl

Walter Braunfels s a composer whose music died twice: Once when the Nazis declared his music “degenerate art”.
Then again when post-war Germany had little use for the various schools of tonal music; when the arbiters of taste considered any form of romantic music – almost the whole pre-war aesthetic – to be tainted.
This 5th release of Capriccio’s Braunfels Edition shows again his large range of colorful music.
From his first success in 1908 (Carnival Overture), a still unknown virtuoso Viola Concerto (Scottish Fantasy) to a strictly structured Prelude and Fugue – Braunfels Music is worth be discovered in our days.