Walter Braunfels
Orchester works Vol.4
Dutton CDLX7355

BBC Concert Orchestra
Johannes Wildner
14 juin 2019



Orchester-Suite e-Moll für grosses Orchester op. 48 (1933-36) *

  1. 1. Präludium
  2. 2. Courante (über J.S.Bach's a-moll Fantasie)
  3. 3. Marsch
  4. 4. Sarabande
  5. 5. Capriccio

Hebridentänze op. 70 (1950-51)
Ein Divertimento nach Schottischen Themen für Klavier und Orchester
Piers Lane (piano)

  6. 1. Lebhaft
  7. 2. Mässige Achtel
  8. 3. Lebhaft
  9. 4. Sehr ruhig
10. 5. Finale

Sinfonia Concertante (1947-48)
Konzert für Solo-Violine, Solo-Viola, 2 Hörner und Streichorchester op. 68
Ernst Kovacic, violin - Thomas Selditz, viola - Tim Thorpe,  French horn - Tim Rumsby, French horn

11. 1. Adagio - Allegro - Adagio
12. 2. Lebhaft - Trio - Langsam - Tempo I
13. 3. Adagio più tosto andante - Tranquillo - Lento
14. 4. Allegro di molto

* World Premiere Recording

This, the fourth and final volume in Dutton Epoch’s Walter Braunfels series, features conductor Johannes Wildner and the BBC Concert Orchestra, plus guest soloists, in a programme of the composer’s later music. Piers Lane (piano) is the brilliant soloist in the lyrical Hebridentänze, a delightful set of variations on two Scottish folk tunes, while the solo parts of the Sinfonia Concertante are authoritatively projected by Ernst Kovacic (violin) and Thomas Selditz (viola), who are especially effective in the emotional Adagio and contrapuntal Finale. The Suite in E minor presents five contrasted movements composed between 1933 and 1936. Long thought lost, this splendid rediscovery was made possible by the unearthing of the orchestral parts, from which the full score was reconstructed. The earlier volumes in this series have all presented rewarding Braunfels discoveries, and this final volume continues that tradition