Eugene Zádor
Naxos 8.573800

Zsolt Fejérvári, double Bass (2, 3)
Kálmán Balogh, Cimbalom (5)
Budapest Symphony MÁV
Mariusz molij
12 septembre 2015 (4), 5-9 septembre 2017 (1-3, 5-7)
Studio 22 of Hungarian National Radio, Budapest, Hongrie
Total Playing Time: 1:17:40


In the last two decades of his career Eugene Zádor, whose music fused Classicism with Romanticism to universal acclaim, wrote a series of works that reflected his Hungarian roots.
Subtly flavoured by folklore without any direct quotations, Zádor’s facility for melody, harmony and colour is exemplified in the Rhapsody for Orchestra, while his gift for lyricism and pithy concision is to the fore in the Fantasia Hungarica for double bass and orchestra.
The Rhapsody for Cimbalom and Orchestra reveals his ceaselessly inventive imagination in music that is orchestrated with the deftest touch.
1.   Dance Overture (1965) 7:32
Fantasia Hungarica (1970)
2.   I. Moderato 5:58
3.   II. Poco vivo 5:05
4.   Elegie, "The Plains of Hungary" (1960) 9:32
5.   Rhapsody for Cimbalom and Orchestra (1969) 12:14
6.   Variations on a Merry Theme  (1964) 22:20
7.   Rhapsody for Orchestra (1961) 14:59