Hans Gál : Chamber Music, Volume Three
Toccata Classics TOCC0433

First Recordings

These five works, from three different stages of Hans Gál’s long life (1890–1987), all show his consummate craftsmanship but are otherwise quite different in character.
The passionate Piano Quartet (1914), downstream from Brahms and Dvořák, brings the grand gestures of Romanticism into the early twentieth century.
The 1935 Sonatina in F major for violin and piano, recently rediscovered, and the three Sonatinas from 1956 put a premium on textural clarity and lyrical approachability;
here the contrapuntal ingenuity, ceaseless thematic development, harmonic freedom and rhythmic unpredictability of Gál’s language animate the music from within.


Katalin Kertész, violin
Nichola Blakey, (viola 1 – 4)
Cressida Nash, (cello 1 – 4)
Sarah Beth Briggs, piano