Songs and Chamber Music performed by an international ensemble
JMP CD 003 © Joodse Muziek Projecten, Amsterdam,  2009
* World premiere recordings  / ** First complete recording on CD
Sovali Consort
Sovali (Sofie van Lier), soprano (NL)
Michel Marang, clarinet (NL)
Perry Robinson, soprano and sopranino clarinet (USA)
Grigory Sedukh, violin, piccolo-violin (RU)
Alexander Oratovski, cello (RU/NL)
Anat Fort, piano (IL/USA)
Marcel Worms, piano (NL)
Sara Crombach, piano (NL)
Roberto Haliffi, percussion (NL)

Special thanks to Society for the Welfare of the Israelites in the Netherlands and everyone who helped to create this CD-project.

“The music of Gnesin will be one of the discoveries of the twenty-first century” – A.G. Yusfin

This album introduces the music of Mikhail Fabianovich Gnesin (1883, Rostov on the Don – 1957, Moscow), a great, wrongfully neglected Russian composer of the 20th century. Gnesin composed many significant works inspired by Jewish musical tradition. He was a founding member of the St. Petersburg Jewish Music Society (1908), a group of young Jewish composers devoted to creating a Jewish style in classical music. He played an important role in the musical culture of Russia and was influential as a music theoretician and teacher. During the Stalin regime his music was unjustly forgotten. Gnesin’s music is expressive, attractive and well composed, and has such rare qualities as humour and irony. Reason enough to pay tribute to him.

  01 Song of a Knight Errant for cello and piano (to the memory of the minstrel Süßkind von Trimberg), Op. 34 (1921)

Jewish Songs for voice and piano, Op. 37 (1923-26)

  02 Yad Anugah Haitah Lah / Her Hand Was Delicate (Zalman Shneur)
  03 Song of Mariamne (without words)
  04 Shir Hashirim / Fragment from Song of Songs
  05 Der Soyne ba di Toyern / The Enemy Is at the Gates (Osher Schwartzman) *
  06 Ôra (Galilean Workman’s Dance). Variations for 4-hands piano, Op. 35 (1922-1923) *  

Three Melodies (Small Pieces) for clarinet, violin, cello and piano, Op. 60 (1942) *

  07 Song of Dzherčn
  08 Ukrainian Dance
  09 Lyric Intermezzo
Music for “The Story of Red-Headed Mottele by Josef Utkin” for voice and piano, Op. 44 (1926-1929) **
  10 Introduction
  11 Pesnia o ryzhem Motele - Song about Red-headed Mottele
  12 Prichëm i ne prichëm - Whose Business It Is and Whose It Isn’t
  13 Na bazare - At the Market
  14 V ocheredi - Standing in Line
15 Chasy (Pesnia tekushchikh del) - The Clock (Song of Current Affairs)
  16 V synagoge - In the Synagogue
  17 Pogrebal’naia - Funeral Song
  18 V chëm fokus (razmyshlenia o zhizni) - What the Trick Is (Thinking about Life)
Jewish Orchestra at the Ball of the City Mayor (Grotesque), Op. 41 (1926). Suite of the Music to Gogol’s “Revisor”
Arrangement for ensemble by Alexander Oratovski with improvisaties by Perry Robinson ( at the Theatre of V.E. Meyerhold, 2002)  
  19 I. Félicitation (Phantasia)
  20-25 II. Quadrille:
    20 Polka
    21 Romance
    22 Valse
    23 Gavotte
    24 Petits Pieds
    25 Galop
  26 Trio for violin, cello and piano “to the Memory of our Perished children”, Op. 63 (1943)