A Musician Divided: André Tchaikowsky in his own Words
Toccata Press

André Tchaikowsky and Anastasia Belina-Johnson (Editors, November 2013)
Foreword by David Pountney
ISBN : 978-0-90768-988-1

The writer is Dr. Anastasia Belina-Johnson, who is the Assistant Head of Programmes at the Royal College of Music and Senior Research Fellow at the University of Leeds. This is a scholarly biography that draws from André's own diaries, other available resources, and from Dr. Belina-Johnson's own exhaustive research in Warsaw and other locations. So far as possible, she uses André's own words to describe his own life, and from his own perspective. The Forward is written by David Pountney, Intendent at the 2013 Bregenz Festival where André's opera, The Merchant of Venice, was given its world premiere on July 18th, 2013.


 This biography was published in November, 2013 by Toccata Press and is an expanded version of the German version of the biography.

Included with the book is an audio CD of a private recital given by André at Currie Hall (now University Hall), University of Western Australia, Perth, on June 2, 1975.
While the audio qualities are well below recording standards, it nevertheless provides insight into André's playing given his comments between the works.
The seriously deficient upright piano used for the recital was partly disassembled during the recital to provide better sound. André introduced this disassembly as the world's first piano "strip tease." See below to hear samples from this CD.

  0. Complete / book_cd_00.mp3
  1. Introduction / book_cd_01.mp3
  2. Bach Prelude in F-sharp minor, Book 2, BWV882 / book_cd_02.mp3
  3. Bach Fugue in F-sharp minor, Book 2, BWV882 / book_cd_03.mp3
  4. Commentary / book_cd_04.mp3
  5. Schumann Fantasie in C major I / book_cd_05.mp3
  6. Commentary / book_cd_06.mp3
  7. Schumann Fantasie in C major II / book_cd_07.mp3
  8. Schumann Fantasie in C major III / book_cd_08.mp3
  9. Commenary / book_cd_09.mp3
10. Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor I / book_cd_10.mp3
11. Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor II / book_cd_11.mp3
12. Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor III / book_cd_12.mp3
13. Commenary / book_cd_13.mp3
14. Debussy Estampes: I "Pagodes" / book_cd_14.mp3
15. Commentary / book_cd_15.mp3
16. Debussy Estampes II "La soiree dans Grenade" / book_cd_16.mp3
17. Chopin Sonata No. 3 in B minor IV (fragment) / book_cd_17.mp3