Hendrik Andriessen (1892-1981)
Symphonic Works, Vol. 1
CPO 777721-2

Netherlands Symphony Orchestra
David Porcelijn
Symphony No. 1 (1930)
  1. I. Lento - Allegro moderato, ma marcato 5:25
  2. II. Andante tranquillo - Allegretto grazioso - Andante tranquillo 4:48
  3. III. Allegro agitato 3:12
Ballet suite (1947)
  4. I. Allegro ma non troppo 6:46
  5. II. Leggiero e grazioso 5:50
  6. III. Allegro ma non troppo 6:47
  7. Symphonic Etude (1952) 10:46
Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Kuhnau (1935)
  8. Theme: Moderato 1:36
  9. Variation 1: Grazioso ma tranquillo 1:06
10. Variation 2: Allegro con spirito 1:09
11. Variation 3: Molto moderato e espressivo 1:24
12. Variation 4: Sostenuto e espressivo 3:43
13. Variation 5: Grave e appassionato 1:10
14. Fuga: Allegretto con eleganza 2:31

Today Hendrik Andriessen is known above all as the composer of some magnificent organ works, a number of masses for the Catholic liturgy, and various choral works. In reality, however, for many decades Andriessen was one of the principal musical powers in the Netherlands, where he was active as a versatile composer and performing musician, a highly esteemed music teacher, an author of articles and books on the topic of music, the conservatory director in Utrecht and The Hague, and a professor of musicology at the Catholic University in Nijmegen. Hendrik Andriessen turned to orchestral music relatively late. His Symphony No. 1 was completed in 1930 and premiered on 1 October of the same year by the Haarlemsche Orkest-Vereenigung under Eduard van Beinum. Two years later Andriessen himself performed the symphony with the same orchestra. The movements of his Symphony No. 1 are closely interrelated thematically, and the powerful finale represents its culminating apotheosis, thus qualifying it as a genuine »finale symphony.« The gripping rhythms and the expanded harmony mixing with fully developed melodies clearly speak in favor of Andriessen’s mastery, which over the years also expressed itself in three additional symphonies and in some twenty other compositions for symphony orchestra or string orchestra.