Erwin Schulhoff
Complete Music for Violin and Piano
Brilliant Classics 95324

Bruno Monteiro, violin
João Paulo Santos, piano
  1. Suite for Violin and Piano, Op.01, WV 18 (1912)
    1. I. Präludium. Stürmisch
    2. I. Gavotte. Mäßig
    3. II. Menuetto
    4. V. Walzer
    5. V. Scherzo. Schnell
  2. Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano, Op.07, WV 24 (1913)
    6. I. Wuchtig. Allegro risoluto
    7. II. Ruhig. Tranquillo
    8. III. Scherzo. Bewegt. Presto
    9. IV. Rondo. Nicht zu schnell. Allegro molto
  3. Sonata for Solo Violin, w/o Op., WV 83 (1927)
    10. I. Allegro con fuoco
    11. II. Andante sostenuto
    12. III. Scherzo. Allegretto grazioso
    13. IV. Allegro risoluto
  4. Violin Sonata No. 2, Op60, WV 91 (1927)
    14. I. Allegro impetuoso
    15. II. Andante
    16. III. Burlesca. Allegretto
    17. IV. Finale. Allegro risoluto

Press Reviews

A fascinating and rewarding issue. There is no doubting the firm belief in this music that exudes from Monteiro and Santos” performances.

This program is both generously packed and very convincing.
Bruno Monteiro and pianist Joäo Paulo Santos have already tackled some adventurous repertoire for Naxos and Brilliant Classics, and this may be their finest achievement on disc.
The sound is excellent and ideally compliments the performances”.

"Here, once more, is very clear the artistry of both musicians: virtuoso playing, technical command, the profound knowledge of the works. There are no reservations.
These artists are the first choise right away amoung the existing versions. They offer outstanding readings where we can hear the richness and power of seduction”.
Jornal de Letras

The Brilliant production team has done well to provide us with this sincerely refreshing account of this particular facet of Schulhoff’s repertoire”.
The Rehearsal Studio

Violinist Bruno Monteiro has a way of dramatically changing the tonal color of his instrument, sometimes note by note, based on the music's character at any given moment.
A technique that his quite captivating and effective. Bruno Monteiro and pianist Joao Paulo Santos can't help but feed off each other's energy, be it bright or dark.
Monteiro's eloquent playing cuts through its tough exterior and reveals the earnest intensity burning at its core.”
Classsical Music Sentinel

Violinist Monteiro possesses a fine tone and technique… Monteiro does not hold back; he attacks this music with relish, fully understanding its idiom and purpose.
All in all, a fascinating glimpse of a different side of Schulhoff.”
The Art Music Lounge

“Monteiro's tone is always clean, golden, and vibrant, qualities he maintains throughout the program. Monteiro and Santos make a splendid team, keeping the drama of the piece moving forward with a pulsating, scintillating enchantment”.
Classical Candor Favourite Recordings 2016

The works are played with lively spirit and idiomatic sensitivity by Bruno Monteiro on violin and João Paulo Santos on piano. This volume spells out his brilliance. I do recommend it very strongly".
Classical Modern Music

He (Monteiro) makes a good fist of it (…) João Paulo Santos does sound at home, he proves an adept interpreter, bringing out every nuance of the music.
The sound is good. The accompanying booklet notes are quite detailed and informative, concentrating on the music rather than the composer. They make a good introduction to these works”.
MusicWeb Internacional

"Truly inspiring music, invigorating, gaining in depth by repeated listening, perfectly served by our two artists”.
Amazon France ****

“Wide use of mute, sonorities close to irony or harmonically unstable intervals, propitiated by the search for a consolidated modernity, flow with naturalness in the bow of Bruno Monteiro, great connoisseur of these sonatas”.
Editor´s Choice/Top 10 CD´s of March - Revista Ritmo *****

This is a most important record of previously-neglected 20th-century chamber music...
We have to thank violinist Bruno Monteiro and his excellent partner Joao Paulo Santos for giving us this very well played and recorded CD, which makes a belated act of restitution for a notable composer.”
Musical Opinion *****