The Yiddish Cabaret
Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Erwin Schulhoff, Leonid Desyatnikov
Harmonia Mundi HMM902631

Release Date: 05/17/20
Hila Baggio (Soprano) , Jerusalem String Quartet





Notes and Editorial Reviews
By juxtaposing Leonid Desyatnikov’s contemporary song settings of Yiddish texts (offering a glimpse into Jewish life in Warsaw during the Weimar Republic) with a pair of chamber works by Schulhoff and Korngold, which also date from this troubled period between the wars, the present recording highlights the fascinating cross-pollination then taking place in the music of Eastern and Western Europe. With soprano Hila Baggio as their featured soloist, members of the Jerusalem Quartet bid us ‘come to the cabaret’ to savour a whole range of stylistic approaches and emotional experiences of the rarest kind.

1. Quartet for Strings no 2 in E flat major, Op. 26 Erich Wolfgang Korngold

  1 I. Allegro 6:27
  2 II. Intermezzo. Allegretto con moto 4:01
  3 III. Larghetto. Lento 7:43
  4 IV. Waltz (Finale). Tempo di Valse 6:04
Jerusalem String Quartet
Period: 20th Centur
Written 1935, United States

2. Pieces (5) for String Quartet Erwin Schulhoff

  5 I. Alla Valse viennese (allegro) 1:58
  6 II. Alla Serenata (allegretto con moto) 3:37
  7 III. Alla Czeca (molto allegro) 1:42
  8 IV. Alla Tango milonga (andante) 4:29
  9 V. Alla Tarantella (prestissimo con fuoco) 2:49
Jerusalem String Quartet
Period:20th Centur
Written: 1923; Czech Republic

3. Songs (5) for Voice & String Quartet "Yiddish" Leonid Desyatnikov
Hila Baggi (Soprano)
Jerusalem String Quartet
Period: Contemporary
Written: Russia

10 1. Varshe 3:48
11 2. In a hoyz vu men veynt un men lakht 5:45
12 3. Ikh ganve in der nakht 2:31
13 4. Yosl un Sore-Dvoshe 4:14
14 5. Ikh vel shoyn mer nit ganvenen 4:36